## Babu lists journalists for top post

**Hyderabad, Nov. 3:** Former chief minister N. Chandrababu Naidu has submitted a list of 18 names, many of them journalists, to Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy for the 10 coveted posts of information commissioners under the Right to Information Act.

Mr Naidu's favourites for the post include journalists P.S. Sundaram, V.V. Dikshitulu, Dasu Kesava Rao, L. Rama Naidu, Mallepalli Laxmaiah, and I. Venkat Rao, academics Prof. Kancha Illaiah, Prof. Nageswara Rao and Kota Harinarayana, retired Vice Chancellor of University of Hyderabad, former IICT head Rama Rao, environmentalist K. Purushotham Reddy, former chief secretary Sathi Nair and social activist Shanta Sinha. Mr Naidu had also proposed the name of former special chief secretary, S. Ray, but he passed away two days ago.

For its part, the government has submitted three names so far. These include senior Congress leader Kalwakuntla (Mandarri) Sudhakar Rao, Congress leader and advocate Ambati Subba Rao and journalist R. Dileep Reddy. The State chief information commissioner and information commissioners must be below 65 years and will hold office for a term of five years from the date of entering office.

The State chief information commissioner can be expected to draw a salary, not including allowances, of Rs 40,000, about equivalent to that of an election commissioner while information commissioner will earn about Rs 35,000, as much as the chief secretary to the State government. As word spread about the privileges and perks of the job, aspirants began queuing up before the Chief Minister hoping to win his favour.